Some of you may be aware of the NFL Draft, which begins tomorrow, April 30, 2015, and runs through Saturday, May 2, 2015. Others of you may have your televisions temporarily hijacked (as I know I will) and find yourselves involuntarily watching it…or at least pretending to. That said, I do admit it’s pretty darn cool to see people’s dreams coming true while cameras roll.

I received an interesting press release the other day and wanted to share it with all of my favorite readers. It’s about the NFL Draft and one lucky paralegal from London. If you find yourself wondering what they have in common—keep reading…

(Paralegal George Bedford of Farringdon, London)

PRESS RELEASE

A LUCKY NFL fan from London will be swapping the courts for a television studio to make American Football history next weekend by announcing two picks on behalf of the Jacksonville Jaguars in the 2015 NFL Draft live from London.

London will be the first ever city outside of the USA to play a part of the NFL Draft with Paralegal George Bedford announcing the Jaguars’ sixth and seventh round Draft picks from a London TV studio having won a competition run by the team. The NFL Draft is a major weekend in the NFL calendar when all 32 teams compete over seven rounds to select the best college players.

Given the Jaguars’ commitment to play one home game a year in London over four seasons, the team wanted to honour their UK fan base further by offering one fan the chance to play a key role by making the live TV announcement from London.

Bedford, who works for Leigh Day in Farringdon, will be revealing the name of the Jaguars’ sixth and seventh-round draft picks to millions of viewers as part of a live broadcast via Sky Sports News in the UK and NFL Network in the US on the evening of Saturday 2nd May.

He said: “I was astonished to hear I had been picked – I would say I was speechless but due to the excitement I was actually talking a lot!”

“Ever since the Jaguars committed to playing in London I became interested in them and I’ve just become more of a fan as they’ve continued to come back and do more in London. It’s great that they’re continuing to involve their UK fans – I’m just the really lucky one.”

“I played for my university team, the Lancaster Bombers, and I haven’t given up my dream of being drafted myself one day!  Being realistic, this might be the closest I ever get to the draft and I’m delighted to play a key role in such a major NFL event.”…

The Jaguars are the only NFL team to make a yearly commitment to London, playing one home game each year in the capital since 2013.  For 2015, the Jaguars will head to Wembley Stadium, for their third visit in as many years, to face the Buffalo Bills on Sunday 25th October. A limited number of tickets are available via www.nfluk.com. For more information about the Jacksonville Jaguars visit www.jaguars.com/UK and Twitter or Facebook /JaguarsUK #BeJaguars

** A special thank you to Fast Track and CSM Sport & Entertainment for sending this our way. **

_____

You heard it here first, folks. And I must admit I love the picture featured with today’s post!

So whether you find yourself eagerly watching the NFL Draft, or involuntarily watching it (like me), be sure to keep an eye out for the 6th and 7th round pick of the Jacksonville Jaguars on Saturday, and give one lucky paralegal from London a silent paralegal salute.

Go get ‘em George…