Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By: Jamie Collins

Today, rather than attempting to write a semi-brilliant blog post because, quite frankly, I’m not feeling all that semi-brilliant, I’m sharing some incredibly cool keyboard hacks for savvy legal people everywhere. 

Read them. Test them. Love them.
(I know I do…)

For the record, you are simply pressing and holding the “ALT” button, then entering the number code listed below for each of these hacks. DO NOT press the + key. (Just ALT and the number. Got it? Here goes…)

For the corporate and business law legal peeps:

ALT + 0153 = ™
ALT + 0169 = ©
ALT + 0174 = ®

(Please feel free to send Belgian chocolates or a big bag of Haribo gummy bears of gratitude my way, people. That’s “Collins” with two L’s.)

For those poor legal souls who spend countless hours typing or editing legal documents (which I’m pretty sure is ALL of us):

ALT + 0182 = ¶
ALT + 38 = &

(I’m not sure if you’ll ever use these, but they’re still pretty darn cool.)

For those who love social media the most:

ALT + 35 = #
ALT + 64 = @

(#SemiBrilliantBlogger @TPSparalegals. Believe. It.)

For those who talk a lot about currency and numbers:

ALT + 36 = $
ALT + 0162 = ¢
ALT + 37 = %

(In summary: You + this = cool.)

For the math and arrow lovers:

ALT + 24 = ↑
ALT + 26 = →
ALT + 27 = ←
ALT + 25 = ↓
ALT + 29 = ↔
ALT + 18 = ↕
ALT + 247 = ≈
ALT + 0176 = ° (degrees symbol)
ALT + 251 = √ (square root symbol)(because I have NO idea why…)

This is SO not my favorite area – with the exception of business math, as those of you who follow me on Facebook probably know all too well from reading my perpetual 3rd grade math “homework mom/hopeless helper” commentary. For the record, Common Core Math is the devil, but keyboard shortcuts are cool. And those directional arrows MAY come in handy for future legal arts and crafts projects prepared at the hands of a semi-brilliant blogger at the legal circus.

For those people who want to know how to do cute keyboard shortcuts because they CAN:

ALT + 3 = ♥
ALT + 6 = ♠
ALT + 5 = ♣
ALT + 4 = ♦
ALT + 1 = ☺
ALT + 2 = ☻
ALT + 15 = ☼

(Don’t judge. You know you’re totally trying ‘em.)

And lastly, cue the drum roll for my favorite one.

ALT + 21 = §

(Yes, there was really a keyboard shortcut for that ALL along. You’re welcome.)

Test ‘em out. As soon as you press those alt + number keys, remove your fingers from the keys promptly. You don’t have to sit there holding/willing the symbol to appear.  After a momentary pause, it will appear on the screen like magic before your alt-button pushing eyes. I swear. (Kind of like those projects that keep appearing on your desk. It’s magic. Heh.)

Now get out there and wow ‘em with your mad keyboarding skills. And your dazzling smile. And your legal prowess. The legal trenches await, my friends.

(Yes, I just used the keyboard shortcut to make that.)
(Because I can.)
(Because I’m cool like that.)

You could be, too.
Just print this off.
Share it with your friends.

#ThatIsAll

_____

The Paralegal Society is now on Twitter @TPSparalegals.
Follow us and we’ll follow you back.

I’ll see you on the flip side.