I’m pleased to announce that as of yesterday, we’ve officially passed the 5,000 member mark in our fun and interactive “Social Club” on LinkedIn. Compared to some groups on LinkedIn, it may not be the largest. But the depth and breadth of our membership base inspires me.

When I first decided to hang out a blogging shingle, I honestly had no idea if I had what it took. After all, I didn’t truly understand what a blog even was, much less know how to create one. I’ll never forget the night I found myself sitting on my couch with my husband attempting to articulate what I believed the differences between a website and blog to be. When I first began writing articles for magazines, I wasn’t certain I would ever gain any type of recognition as a mainstream paralegal writer. But day-by-day and week-by-week, that blogger and writer person continued to blog and write. Some days, she believed in herself immensely. Other days, she was ready to hoist her hands up into the crazy, hazy, less than motivated air in a state of defeat…usually self-defeat. But she never gave up. She never gave in. And over time, some really great things began to happen.

The Paralegal Society blog began to make some waves and garnered itself a tremendous group of loyal followers and long list of subscribers. We started a LinkedIn group and people began to flock to it, slowly in the beginning, but more steadily over time. And day-by-day and week-by-week, this group became something special for many of us. It’s a place I turn to each day for social interaction, encouragement, career advice, knowledge, sharing, and inspiration. It’s our own little corner of the legal landscape, there to provide us each a brief respite to what is oftentimes, a chaotic career field. It became a place we each can visit to share, mingle, chat with colleagues, share a good laugh (or twelve) and let our hair (neckties and self-sensors) down.

So today, I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you to each one of our fabulous members. To tell you that I appreciate each and every one of you who visit our site and subscribe to our blog to receive our latest posts via your in-box. Every time I post a new piece or write an article, it makes my heart happy to know there are people out there who look forward to reading it – sometimes to find inspiration, other times to learn, grow or relate, and at times, perhaps even to disagree or critique the content. It is truly my honor to write and blog for you. Today, tomorrow, and in the future.

Thank you for reading our posts, interacting with us, leaving thoughtful comments, telling others about TPS, and making our dynamic, interactive social forum what it is today.

(Not too bad for a clueless blogger/writer person with a dream.)

With Heartfelt Gratitude,
Jamie
____

Don’t ever allow self-doubt or lack of knowledge or ability to stop you on your journey to an intended goal or destination. Put in the time, effort, and work required to become the person it takes to get you there. It will be an interesting journey. And you’ll be better for it.

If you aren’t already a member of our “Social Club” on LinkedIn, join us. It’s free! And it’s incredible. All “friendly” legal minds and those aspiring to be, are welcome to join us.