I’ll never forget the day I decided to turn on the click counter for this blog. It read “435” hits and I thought to myself, “That seems respectable.” I was a newbie blogger with no clue what I was in for. Admittedly, it’s been an adventure. It’s been fabulous, a wee bit scary, sometimes daunting, often exhilarating, and almost always ridiculously fun. Fast forward 2 years and 2 months from our initial launch, and The Paralegal Society has officially shared nearly 300 posts, and seen over a quarter of a million hits! So in honor of this momentous occasion, I’m sharing the “Top 5 Reasons Why I Love Being YOUR Blogger!”

Without further ado, here’s my list:

FIVE:  It gives me an opportunity to hone my self-sensor.  In fact, far more than anyone reading this blog could ever imagine. Meaning if you ever read a post of mine and thought, “Dang – I can’t believe she said that,” or found yourself laughing aloud at your desk, chances are, the lingering thought of remaining gainfully employed in paralegal land, while finding a way to still speak my mind probably kicked on the self-sensor, compelling me to water down that particular post or line of text twelve ways to Sunday. (You should see the thoughts as they actually appear in my head!)

My self-sensor is second-to-none. I remain gainfully employed. You still laugh or nod your head in agreement.

FOUR:  It makes people think I’m a passionate person.  If I made a lot of money doing this, people would say I’m “successful” or “smart,” but since there is no money to be had at the end of this blogger’s rainbow, as of the date of this writing – I must be passionate. Yep, super passionate. And hoping one day to be “successful” and “smart,” too – reporting to you live from the sunny beaches of Hawaii, basking in retirement and happiness, I might add.

THREE:  It allows people to get to know me from afar – even if I don’t get the opportunity to know them back. (And I sure would love to). I must admit it’s pretty darn cool to walk into a room of people you’ve never met in person and know that someone who read your writing feels like they have a sense of who you are as a person, has already developed a connection to you from reading your candid ramblings, and seems to like you because of it. Blogging = cool.

And when I see them running fast as heck in the opposite direction, far, far away from me, I take no offense! Ha ha. (Thankfully, I’ve not noticed any runners yet. But if I see you, you’re totally going up on my blog. iPhone pictures and all…)      

TWO:  I get to share a piece of my mind (and occasionally my soul) with all of our wildly fabulous readers! Yes, you. I find it thrilling to know when I sit down to write a new piece that there is probably one person; someone, somewhere, who really needs that particular piece of advice and is waiting on it, although she doesn’t know it yet – then I go to work writing that post just for her. The moment I find her, when she reaches out to me via e-mail me or leaves a comment is, by far, one of the most gratifying things I’ve ever experienced.

ONE:  It gives me magical powers.  What do I mean by that? Let me tell you about the greatest blogging gift of all. The gift of power. Anytime my boss walks into my office and begins to annoy/irritate me, usually by pretending he needs to tell me some “new” tidbit of ridiculously fundamental information on how a particular nuance in a personal injury case works (like how to prepare a medical authorization – or how to file something with the clerk of courts), when I’ve quite literally done that particular task ten thousand times (successfully) during the 17 years of my career (which is precisely why he hired me) without ever needing to hear this completely unnecessary tidbit of information exiting his mouth regarding said “nuance” during the past SIX consecutive years of working together as a dynamic duo – I tell him (semi-jokingly) that if he doesn’t leave my office immediately, he is going up on my blog. This always results in his swift and immediate departure from this paralegal-blogger’s office.

Blogging = power.

If that last reason alone isn’t reason enough for owning a blog, I don’t know what is, people!

_____

Thank you to every single one of our readers – the ones who’ve been with us since the very beginning, and those who joined us along the way. I’d also like to say a special thank you to all of our loyal subscribers (who choose to receive our posts via e-mail), and all of the extraordinarily active members of our “Social Club” on LinkedIn.  It’s each and every one of you, everywhere, that make this fun and dynamic forum what it is today. Thank you, one thousand times over, for all of your kind and thoughtful comments, incredibly helpful feedback, and for honoring us by continuing to return to the paralegal playground time and time again, in search of a little education, motivation, and inspiration.  

You are the reason we blog.