Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bill Kinnard

By: Bill Kinnard (Guest Blogger)

Happy Friday, TPS Nation! We hope you’ve had an absolutely fantastic week in paralegal land! (And even if it hasn’t been, then at least it’s nearly over!) Today, the Founder’s cousin, Bill, is here to share an insightful post on the fun topic of perspective. What’s yours…and what could it be? A great question to ponder as you read this post.

Reprinted with permission from Grandy & Associates: www.grandyassociates.com

I’ve been following Andy Andrews lately and listening to his podcast called In The Loop. Truly great stuff…and I have found a few more books I have to add to my reading list. This morning I stumbled across an excerpt from one of those books called The Noticer. It said:

I recounted a real memory of a meal I shared with Jones, (the book’s central character). He had invited me to join him on a sand dune near the ocean for what he called a “feast.” This “feast” turned out to be Vienna sausages and sardines. As we began the meal, he asked me what I was eating.

Puzzled, and a little annoyed by what the “feast” had turned out to be, I said, “I’m eating sardines and Vienna sausages.” “Where?” he responded. Still annoyed, I answered, “In the sand.”

He responded with something extraordinary that still affects me to this day:

“Young man, you see only the sand at your feet and what you are eating that you wish was something else. I don’t tell you this as a rebuke; you are very ordinary in your views. Most people are just like you, disgusted with themselves for what they are and what they eat and what they drive. Most of us never stop to think that there are quite literally millions in this world who lack our blessings and opportunities, have no food to eat at all, and no hope of ever owning a car.”

Then, he really hit me with something: “Incidentally, you ate sardines and Vienna sausages in the sand. I dined on surf and turf with an ocean view. It’s all about perspective.”

What’s your perspective? How do you look at your life, your circumstances, your friends, your family, your surroundings? So many times, I have to admit that I feel the “woe is me” attitude creep in and I need to keep it in check. We are all very fortunate regardless of what it appears is on our plate.

I love hearing what you think. Use the comment box below and share your thoughts.

We hope you find yourself dining on surf and turf this weekend, TPSers…even if you find yourself eating Vienna sausages straight out of the can! After all, it’s all about perspective.

We’ll see you on Monday! Until then, bask in the relaxation of the paralegal freedom movement, and stockpile the happy. You’ve got a big week ahead of you! How do we know that? Because you work in the legal sector, my friends. Divide and conquer…but first, have an absolutely spectacular weekend, complete with lots of rest and relaxation – you’re gonna need it!

See you soon.